Be true to who you are… maybe.

20140309-215956.jpg

Recently a local high school had a motivational speaker. I asked some of the students what the speaker said. “Be true to who you are” was the response. I asked them what that meant. I was answered something along the lines of “we should be happy with who we really are and not care about what others think.”

This is a very popular message in our world today. The most notable version of it was presented to me in the Disney movie “Frozen“. Be true to who you are and don’t worry about what others think.

Whereas I admire this message in one context, and can see the good that can come from it. I’m also deeply concerned with it if it’s used in another context.

The question I ask is: which part of you are you being true to? We are duel beings.

All of us are children of God in a spiritual, yet very real sense. Within us are the seeds and the potential of divinity. If you mean “be true to the divine nature inside you regardless of what the world says”, then I’m on board all the way with that message. This is called moral courage.

At the same time we are all born into a fallen condition. Abinadi taught that we are born “carnal, sensual and devilish”. This means that we have a very natural inclination toward the things of the flesh. If it is easy, exciting, or fun, the natural man in us is drawn to it. The problem is that

“the natural man is an enemy to God, and has been from the fall of Adam, and will be forever and ever, unless he yields to the enticings of the Holy Spirit and putteth off the natural man…” (Mosiah 3:19)

If that’s who we’re being true to then we’re in trouble and I’m not entirely confident the world is steering me toward being true to my divine nature.

What prophets and apostles invite us to do is be true to the divine nature, and resist the natural man. They may be a minority in this but I stand with them.

Leave a Reply

